Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“The MTC is amazing…!”

on 27 November 2012

Here is Michelle’s first email from the MTC.

If you wish to write to Michelle whilst she is in the MTC you can use DearElder.com, its completely free, and it gets to her the same day!

The MTC is amazing and I’m absolutely loving it. I’m doing so much in every day and I honestly can’t figure how I used to live my days. I wasted so much time! I know this will sound stupid but my expectations of the MTC are so far from reality. I thought I would be in lots of classes being taught a lot but instead I’m actually just being a missionary. We have an “investigator” called Philippe and soon we’ll be getting more and everything we do is focused on them. I am learning that in no way is this mission about me, it never was and I couldn’t be happier about it. Every day I experience the love of Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ and it just makes me love others so much! I’m filled with the spirit every day and I’m working so hard.

It’s not all hard work though, I love my companion. Sister Allred (from Cache Valley, Utah) and my district is brilliant. We have 8 in our district, me and my companion are the only sisters and we have some really funny characters. If I’m honest, sometimes it can be pretty hard to concentrate because we all get so distracted by each other. Becky [Hooker] is in a different district to me. We have about 7 districts in our zone.

I’ve found that my confidence with using french has rocketed because when I’m teaching Philippe I just have to. I had my first teach after just three days of being here so you just try your best. We’ve made a few funny mistakes like telling him he’s a daughter of God! I’m just grateful he’s not a real investigator and we get to make all our mistakes with him. Although not all the elders in our zone know that they’re members.

I love you all so much and want you to know that my testimony is growing loads even in such a short time. Love you tonnes and tonnes!

Love from Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

