Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“It’s Finally Snowing…”

on 11 December 2012

Christmas is getting closer in the MTC for Sister Hoar. Don’t forget to send her a letter or a little note as she’s away from the family…

Hi Everyone!

It’s been another amazing week at the MTC. It’s finally snowing and the Christmas lights are up so it looks really magical here with all the mountains and the random districts singing Christmas carols in the evening.

Our new companion, Sister Hall got here last week. I keep thinking people are calling me when they talk to her but then I remember that in an American accent Hoar and Hall sound nothing alike. She’s lovely and fits into our little companionship so well, we love her! Every time I say something like that I realise how American I sound but when you’re immersed in it it’s hard not to. I have got the elders in our zone now to greet each other with “y’alright?” and say things like “chuffed to bits” and “take the mick”. One elder asked me if you could ever give the mick or if it’s just something you can take. They’re hilarious when they try to put on the English accent.

On Sunday we had a really cool fireside. The BYU Men’s Choir came and it was fantastic! Their choir director was Welsh and it was really funny when people were coming up to me to ask if I felt at home. I’m like “do I really sound like that to you??” I then tried my best to explain the difference between welsh and English but I don’t think they got it.

We haven’t had any other Apostles or General Authorities visit yet but our choir director told us that we were in for a real treat tonight so my guess is that it’s an Apostle. They can’t let us know before hand because of security reasons.

My date for leaving for France is 14th January. I can’t believe I’m a month in already. It’s going so fast and I can see how it’ll be over before I know it. But I can’t think about that now, I have so much work to do and I can’t wait. I can’t wait to get out to the field but at the same time I have so much work still to do here.

On French and on teaching. The Lord has been blessing me so much and I see his hand in my life every day. I would not be at this point without Him. It’s amazing how much I’ve already seen my life change in such a short time and I know that I won’t be the same person after my mission. I can’t imagine my life without this experience and I’m so glad that the Lord has given me such a wonderful opportunity and I pray every day that I can become the ;missionary He wants me to be.

They haven’t told us much about what will happen at Christmas but I’m assuming we’ll have an Apostle speak and a service project. I’ll let you know when I know more.

Thank you to those who have written to me, I can’t tell you how much a letter can make your day.

Lots and lots of love from
Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

