Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“We’ve had a great Christmas so far…”

on 26 December 2012

Joyeux Noel tout le monde!

We’ve been given only 20 mins to write an email today and I’ve already spent the first 5-10 reading the emails I’ve been sent so I’m really sorry that this will be so short. My district is really hoping that since we got gyp’ed 30 minutes for p-day we might get to write tomorrow but I’m not holding my breath.

Thank you for the presents and the chocolate! Especially for the chocolate, I actually haven’t eaten any in the last 6 weeks. I now have 3 weeks to get through my body mass in chocolate. Ok that’s not true…I’m sad to say that America has made me gain weight, but I’m sure France will get rid of that very quickly.

We’ve had a great Christmas so far, we watched ‘A Christmas Carol’ last night, sadly not the Muppets version. Then me and my companions had a “sleepover” by taking our mattresses off the beds and putting them next to each other on the floor so we could wake up Christmas morning and open presents in our pyjamas. We had Elder Russell M. Nelson come to our devotional this morning so that was pretty cool. I was in the MTC choir too and that room was filled with the spirit when we sang of the Saviour’s birth and Atonement, it was almost tangible. It’s weird that when I’m using gospel terms, the French translation comes to mind quicker than the English. I was saying companionship prayer the other night and it took about 20 secs to figure out the word for “expiation” in English (Atonement).

I miss you all so much (please thank the Young Women for their letters). I’m so blessed, however, to have a Christmas so focused on our Saviour. He came to Earth in the most humble of circumstances, to save the world and redeem us from our sins. Through him we can return to our Father in heaven and live forever. I am so grateful and in awe of His sacrifice and the love He has for each of us individually.

I hope you have had a wonderful Christmas

Lots and lots of love
from Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

