Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

New Years Resolutions

on 3 January 2013

“Bonjour tout le monde!

Bonne Année! (not sure of the spelling) Je vous aime x

Well since it’s a new year it’s only fitting that I make some new year’s resolution that I’ll share with you. I’m pretty confident that I can keep them this year:

1. No Facebook
2. Get up at 6.30 every morning
3. Budget my money and stick to it
4, Travel more (maybe live in a couple of new countries)
5. Learn a new language
6. Meet someone new every day
7. Make a new best friend every 6 weeks
8. Do one thing every day that pushes me out of my comfort zone
9. Study the scriptures for at least an hour every day
10. Plan my time more wisely
11. Stay focused on the Saviour
12. Witness a miracle

So it looks like this year is going to be a good one 🙂 It’s not off to a great start, there’s been warnings about swine flu going around and there’s been a ban on handshakes and when I woke up this morning I found out that both my companions had been sick all through the night. It’s crazy here, everyone is ill and they’re currenltly having a big meeting to sort out what they’re going to do. Soeur Hooker said she wouldn’t be surprised if they sent some of us out to the field early. It makes a bit of sense because it’s spreading like wild fire. Don’t worry about me though, I’m very healthy and me and Heavenly Father have a bit of an understanding when it comes to sickness bugs.

It’s not the first time Soeur Hall’s been ill though, I’ve spent half the week in my room looking after her so it’s been a pretty weird week. The weirdest thing was going to a pharmacy in the outside world and although that sounds harmless it completely freaked me out for some reason. I guess I’ve just got really comfortable in the little MTC bubble. Can’t wait to go to the field (I’ll be receiving travel plans this week) but at the same time I’m really scared. I know the Lord will look after me though as  he always does. It just hit me the other week what I would actually be doing. We had a practice at street contacting in French and it was super scary and that was only in the MTC. I love how much I’m growing though, I’m doing so much that I wouldn’t usually do because I know I can do this. I have been set apart to be a servant of the Lord and that gives me so much comfort and strength.

Thank you everyone for all your letters this week. I’ll be writing a lot of letters to all the freinds who wrote to me. Thankyou Auntie Sheila, you’re conversion story was wonderful to read and also very entertaining at times. I’m going to make another call out for conversion stories though. I’m going to be a bit more specific this time please could the following send me their conversion stories and any others would be greatfully received Mum, Dad, Russ, Michael, Noel, Nicki and Megan. Thankyou, love you all!

The Church is true, you all need to know that. Our Heavenly Father loves us so much as does our Savior. I’m learning to see myself through their eyes and if you ever feel discouraged then I encourage you to do the same, to just thing for a moment of what your Heavenly Father and Savior think of you, pray to know in fact, and I know you can feel their love and testimony that you are his child and he wants everything for you.

Lots and lots of Love
From Soeur Hoar”

One response to “New Years Resolutions

  1. […] New Years Resolutions Jan […]

Leave a Reply

