Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“To everyone here I am Sister Gold”

on 21 January 2013

Bonjour!

The French keyboard is different so it’s taking me forever to type. I’m in a little internet café at the moment in a very cute ville. Unfortunately it’s not where I live. I live on the 4th floor of a block of flats in the cheap side of town but it’s cute and very French and on the whole I’m very happy with it. It’s great to be in a place where nobody knows what your name means. To everyone here I am Sister Gold because that’s how it translates. My little branch is so cute and the members are wonderful and really involved in the missionary work. The branch is about the same size as Bergerac so I already know who everyone is which is perfect for me. They make fun of me because I’m English but half the time I can’t understand what they’re saying so I’ve found myself becoming good at reading people’s emotions so that I can mirror them! In my testimony I told the branch that I’m here to serve them so if they ever need anything, just tell my translator and she’ll let me know.

I have my first zone conference next week and my first district meeting the week after. I pretty much walk everywhere but if it’s crazy far we have got the bus (Sister Hooker is in a car area in a trio). Sister Reintjes is wonderful! She is from California and is so patient with me and works really hard and has just so far been an amazing trainer and I love her. The work is good, we’ve got a couple of really solid progressing investigators and a few new amis (investigators) who show a lot of potentiel and we’re really excited about them. It is snowing so much here and so I’ve already had to use pretty much all my emergency cash for buying boots that don’t leak so that I won’t have to go another day walking for hours in the cold with soaked snowy feet…not fun.

Thank you for all your support at home, I love you all so much and I’ll be sure to write a much longer email next week.

My new address is:

Les Missionaires
Soeur Hoar
39 avenue de cran
74000 Annecy
France

Please send everything there because it takes ages if it goes to the mission home, also I’ll probably get things quicker by post than by email;

Lots and lots of love

Soeur Hoar

xxxxxxxxxxxx”

Annecy

Palais de l’Isle, Little Venice, Annecy, Haute-Savoie

Leave a Reply

