Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Everyone here thinks they’re Swiss”

on 28 January 2013

Hello Everyone!

Ok, I may have been a bit optimistic about the French post system and Sisiter Reintjes has told me that it’s snail pace and a lot of her stuff gets sent back be sure to put the return address on each time you send something.

I have been told so many times that I’m in the best secteur in the mission and I can well believe that. The members are great and so involved in missionary work. It’s a completely stereotypical French ward although we’re so close to the border that everyone here thinks they’re Swiss. Sister Reintjes and I haven’t had the heart yet to break it to them.

We have a couple of investigators with a baptismal date at the moment and another who was baptised the week before I arrived so for all those who think France doesn’t get baptisms…

One of those is Anna who is wonderful, she turns 68 this weekend and gets spiritually born the next! She’s Italian and speaks really fast French with a strong accent so I only get about half of what she says but that doesn’t stop me from seeing how well the Lord has prepared her and I love her so much. She’s so funny in how she is so concerned for us too, every time she leaves she makes sure that we have our scarves on and that we’ll be plenty warm enough when we leave. Our other ami with a baptismal date is another super prepared lady who I’ve actually only seen once because she kind of lives between two ward boundaries so the Elders have been teaching her this week.

The French is coming along. I now know what the French translation is of “I don’t have time”, “I’m late for a bus”, “I’m Catholic”, “you’re Amish”, “you’re Jehovah’s Witnesses”, “you’re an American sect”, “I’m not interested” and so on. The cool thing about Annecy though is that it’s such a nice area that even when people reject you they do it with a smile and wish you luck and a good day! Seriously would be happy to serve most of my mission here.

I’m learning heaps. I’m learning about my own nothingness, what it means to be humble and to rely on the Lord in ALL things. I love my morning studies and they give me strength for the day. Sister Reintjes is such a great example of focusing on the needs of others. She is always just turning outwards and never thinking of herself.

We teach English as a second language class and we’ve been trying to come up with some fun games or ways to teach so any ideas for that would be gratefully received.

I love you all. Have a wonderful week, I hope to hear from you soon.

Love Soeur Hoar

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

p.s. I found out that friends can email as well as family now (although I do love getting letters) If anyone wants to send me and email I would love to hear from you. You can write to me at michelle.hoar@myldsmail.net . Pdays are on Mondays.

Leave a Reply

