Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Transfers are called ‘mutations’ in French”

on 13 February 2013

Hello!

This transfer is a weird one because of the change in stay at the MTC so it’s only 5 weeks which means I’ll find out about transfers on Friday (they’re called mutations in French, I got a kick out of that). So after having only been here for 4 1/2 weeks I’ll have finished my first transfer! I’m sure that I’ll be staying, it would be weird to move so soon and I really hope that Soeur Reintjes stays with me, I don’t know what I’d do without her at this point.

Anna was not baptised on Sunday. She is so ready and is really converted but she just has so much fear about the commitment and some other things that I won’t list. I don’t think anyone can prepare you for the heartbreak of someone you love so much telling you that they don’t want to be baptised. I can’t believe how much I can love someone in such a short time, she really is wonderful. After our last lesson we have a bit of hope that it could still happen this Sunday. I can’t give up hope so please keep her in your prayers, she’s too special to lose!

We had a couple of miracles this week: one is the other ami with a baptismal date who the elders were teaching but now we are and will be from now on. She’s just so golden and just gets it. Her name is Florine (if I didn’t already tell you) and she soaks everything up like a sponge and is so eager to learn everything she can. The other miracle is a woman called Sahadete who showed up to our English class, she didn’t know it was held in a church and when she found out it was a Christian church her face just lit up and she had no words, just a thumbs up. In (really) brief she has left her Muslim home and family and moved to Europe so that she can learn about Christ and how she can follow Him…I think we can help her with that. Her story is amazing and the Lord has really prepared her and guided her to find us. We’ve only taught her once but I can’t wait to continue.

Another bit of news here is that the snow is crazy! There’s up to like 2 feet so just after emails we’re gonna go make a snowman at the park by the lake (prettiest part of Annecy).

I think the post here is a bit slow because I know a few of you said you were sending things but I haven’t got them yet, it’s exciting to look forward to this week though.

I am seeing the hand of the Lord so much in my life right now, and I know it’s always been there it’s just now that I see it so much clearer. I really love my Saviour and feel so blessed that He has put His trust in me to do this great work. He’s trusting me with His precious children and that is a great weight but a great blessing at the same time. There are angels round about us and I have felt them bearing me up. This is not a solitary work, there is so much divine help and I can feel your support and your prayers so thank you so much.

I am learning a bit more each day that this is where I am needed because this work is just too important, there is so much to do and I don’t know how I’m going to even make a dent in my few months that I have here. It’s a good job that this is not up to me and that all things are possible through the Lord. Even when things look impossible and the wisdom of the world tells you it’s not worth it, it really is. Trust in the Lord.

Love you all so so so much, have a wonderful week!

Lots of love from Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

