Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Anna is now officially a member!”

on 9 March 2013

Bonjour!

First off, thank you to everyone writing to me, it is such a big support and I feel all of your prayers, so thank you, thank you, thank you!

It’s not been the easiest week I’ll be honest, we’ve lost contact with some of our amis and to be honest, don’t really know why. We’re doing all we can to get back in contact with them and praying a lot so hopefully we will see them again soon. The Lord’s work will be done even with all our weaknesses. I love that about the mission, you really see how inadequate and unworthy you are but then if you’re willing to work, by miracles the Lord does his work through you. The hard times give us a really special moment to plead with and rely on the Lord. I have a firm testimony that He hears our prayers and answers them in the most special ways. Challenges and trials are a time to grower closer to the Lord and then continue when things get better again because it is by Him that everything is done. I really love Him and am so grateful for this special time to grow closer to Him. I have a heck of a long way to go but then we all do and that’s just the point.

On Saturday we were doing some calls to ancient amis to invite them to church and we got a call back from a lady names Isabelle, she couldn’t come to church but we were able to set up a RDV (rondez-vous/appointment). The cool and strange thing was that when we looked back over the call list we couldn’t find her, we checked for her name, number and address but it wasn’t anywhere, we’re just putting that one down to a miracle. Anyway, when we met up with her she also had a friend who wanted to meet us (Armand) who is really cool and very believing. We found out that she has a lot of problems, that she’s turned away from God and it sounds like she now prays to Satan…anyway, if there’s anyone who needs the gospel in their life then she does. That RDV came to mind then because at first glance you would not think there was a chance for this woman as it can feel like that for us personally: you can think that the task is too much and that you’re too weak but the truth is that everyone was sent here equal and all are able to return. We cannot be the judge, even of oursleves. Christ paid the price and he redeems us from our sins and helps us reach our potentiel. It is only through him that we can become worthy and it is possible for all of us. We are really excited to continue teaching Isabelle and Armand and I can’t wait to see the how the Lord works with them.

Anna is now officially a member! 🙂 She was confirmed and received the Holy Ghost yesterday and it’s just wonderful to see the change in her as she continues to receive the blessing of the gospel. Once again thank you for your prayers. We have a goal in this mission to pray too much, I think it’s as good a goal as any.

I was feeling like my language ability was getting better yesterday, I understood most of what was going on in our RDV and I could say nearly everything I wanted to. 20 mins later and I’m on a bus talking to an old lady and I understand about 5 words…
However I know that I am being blessed, there’s no way I would be at this point without the Lord’s help. I can’t tell you how much I can just feel Him helping me step by step and day by day. There are angels bearing us up. This work is by no means solitary.

I love you all so so much and hope you have a great week. As always, you’re in my prayers.

Lots and lots of love
from Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

