Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Big changes… we have 18 sisters coming in!”

on 25 March 2013

Hello All!

I’m super grateful for how much contact I get and how much love and support I feel from letters etc and prayers. I have been super super blessed this week and truly felt the love of the Lord and answers to many prayers.

Ok, I know I make tonnes of spelling mistakes and that’s partly down to learning French, and rushing emails each week but also bear in mind that the French keyboard is also in a different order to the English, especially the a and m. Random side note but you can now add that to your French cultural knowledge.

Ok, update on amis; Caroline is wonderful!!! We saw her the other day on her own and she is having the greatest spiritual experiences. This is someone who knows practically nothing about religion and is now talking like a member already. She came to church for the first time this week and some members just thought she was inactive by the way she just mingled with everyone and commented in lessons. The branch is so great with people coming to church and completely took her under their wing. Soeur Colignon, I think must have completely changed her RS lesson to meet her level and it was perfect for her, all about the Atonement and the gospel of Christ. We then walk in to Sunday School (church is backwards here) and on the board is written ‘le rassemblement d’Israel’ (the Gathering of Israel). We knew it was going well, she was ok with it.

I love studies on the mission. I’ve always loved my scriptures but I’ve never had these kind of experiences before. I could say that I’ve had life changing studies some mornings and I had one of those mornings this week. I can’t explain it because the feelings came through being taught by the spirit but I had a really strong impression of the way that the Atonement applies personally in my life. You think that growing up in the church you know all the basic doctrines but really I had no idea. True I can’t say that I know any new facts but I’ve been able to really feel these principles and know them for myself and internalise them in a whole new way. The things I’ve learnt are just the things from the Preach My Gospel lessons; God is our loving heavenly father, through Christ we can be cleansed from sin. I love the mission because there’s just no other way I could have had these experiences. The Lord is showing me who I can be and through that he shows me who others can be too. The most special feelings I’ve had here is feeling Heavenly Fathers love for other people through me. I imagine that’s kind of what it’s like to be a parent.

Anyway, time is running short, speaking of which, transfers are next week and there are going to be big changes because we have 18 sisters coming in and we did the maths and found out that there will only be three équipes who don’t have a blue! I’m scared but I know I shouldn’t be because the Lord has it all under control and he won’t let our amis suffer because of my inadequacies…I hope.

Thank you for all the mail this week again, I hope everyone is feeling better, I’ll keep praying for you all. I wish I could have more time to write because there’s was so much I wanted to respond to. I love you all so much, I hope you have a great week.

Love Michelle”

Leave a Reply

