Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“We have a new ami, she’s so great”

on 18 April 2013

Bonjour tout le monde!

Ok, if you were to see Annecy today or even over the weekend you would think I was on holiday rather than on a mission. Be jealous, be very jealous. It’s like at least mid 20s, the sun is shining and I’m in the prettiest little town in France. After emails we’re going to the park by the lake to have a picnic and an ice-cream and then a bit of shopping because the weather is so hot that I actually don’t have any clothes suitable (at least not now I’ve gained weight). Yep, missions are just super hard.

We had zone training in Geneva this week and I don’t know if I told you but Elder Gruber (the one we had over for dinner on holiday last year) is my zone leader, how crazy! He totally still remembers us all and apparently dad spoke to his friend serving in Manchester.

We have a new ami, she’s so great. Her name is Pascale and you would think she’s a member already. She has family who are LDS and they’ve been amazing missionaries for her. Seriously, we do nothing, we just turn up to find people who’ve been prepared y the Lord for years and our purpose is so simple ‘Inviter les gens à venir au Christ’. All we do is invite and then we get to feel the Lord’s love for these people. She doesn’t have a date yet but she will soon, she just wants to feel more ready. She’s so in tune with the spirit and we invited her to pray about a date so I’m sure she’ll have one soon.

I had some really bad news the other day. I got a call from Michèle just after she got a call from the doctor saying that they’re predicting she only has a year and a half left to live. I just sat in silence, what could I say. I had no idea how much I would love these people and I’m just praying for a miracle. There’s now such a real sense of urgency for her baptism and really that’s the same kind of urgency that I should feel with everyone. Please pray that she can stop smoking. She’s set another date for 28th April and I pray and hope so much that she’ll get there.

Every morning we read from the white handbook and this morning we read about not being able to hold children and both agreed that is the hardest rule to keep. I read a talk this morning called ‘The Meaning of the Atonement’ and it talked about how it’s all possible because Heavenly Father is exactly obedient and he walks on the razor edge of celestial laws. I know that through obedience comes power and it’s through obedience that we prepare for life with Heavenly Father in the Celestial Kingdom.

Ok, something funny I learned this week is that Soeur Layton is great at attracting old Muslim men. It’s hilarious, without exception, whenever they see her you just see in their eyes that it’s love at first sight. We were street contacting in Geneva after zone training and we get talking with this man, who fits the above description and he is just smitten with her. He tells her never to leave Suisse and she says if he gets baptised she’ll consider it. He responds that he will if she’s the one who does it. So super creepy but super funny. We passed his number to the Elders.

Now that we’ve been together for a couple of weeks and got to know each-other better it’s just so much fun and we’re learning so much off each-other. We balance each-other nicely beacuse I’m a super stress head and she’s more a bubbly, free spirited, extrovert. This is going to be a great transfer and it’s already going so fast. I don’t want it to because we know for a fact that everyone is training next transfer…aaahhh!! And I don’t want to leave Annecy!

Anyway, thank you everyone for your support, I feel your prayers for me and the work. I hope everyone is doing well. I love you all so much.

Lots and lots of love
from Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

