Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“I esteem myself to be at about the level of a 2 yr old”

on 24 April 2013

“Bonjour tout le monde,

Wow, thank you all so much for your emails, the internet café now probably think I’m crazy because I laughed out loud so many times, I just hope they didn’t see me welling up a few times…that would be weird. Really though, I feel such a boost from them all, there were so many things that I needed to hear so thank you,

So big news in Telford ward! That’s gonna be fun! Big news in Annecy branch, usually we get between 35-40 people at sacrament meeting but this week was 62. It’s either that we’ve worked super hard this week or…it was branch conference.

My french…everyone wants to know how my french is coming along. I’m pleased to announce that I esteem myself to be at about the level of a 2 yr old. I can generally understand what people are telling me and if not I hope I’m not in trouble and when I speak people think it’s cute that I’m trying and congratulate me for my efforts. I do occasionally forget the English for things which is a really weird experience and I do have the occasional french dream but it usually involves me asking people how to say things in french and getting frustrated that they don’t know the answer.

Oh forgot to mention that at conference we had Elder Boutoille show up, that was kinda cool and he told a story that he said he heard while visiting an English stake and I’d heard the story before, it was so weird. It was the story about the sister who buys a kitkat on the way back from the temple and then thinks that the people sitting opposite her ate it but it was actually her that ate theirs…don’t know if that rings any bells?

So I don’t know if I told you that we’re teaching Christ at the moment. No joke, he’s from Congo and he’s really cool but I can only understand half of what he says because his accent is so strong. When he’s not around we just call him Chris, feels way too weird otherwise.

Have I ever told you about Hakim? He’s a less active that we work with. Anyway, I’m playing the closing hymn in sacrament meeting and out of the corner of my eye I see a man walk past in a cowboy hat and a sheriff’s badge, it was so hard to hold myself together. He is one of a kind, just remind me to tell you about him when I come home because anything I write won’t do him justice. Not that you’ll remember this email in a year or so’s time.

So the focus at the moment is working with members. I don’t really know the way to do that. In fact I don’t really know the way you do anything, I feel like a toddler learning to walk and just falling over every few seconds and then when I do manage to walk a few steps it just looks really funny and awkward. Anyway, if you have any tips about working with members then please let me know, we have very few but they’re all really strong I just don’t know how to turn that into a great missionary team.

Can’t think of too much that has really happened this week. We taught some cool people, I got humbled, I learned lots, we laughed at how odd life is. I can’t imagine ever not doing this. I just feel like this is all there is to life and I will just forever be a missionary.

So Soeur Layton, I am finding out more and more is a great cook! I am eating so well right now, I’ll just be like ‘I put some pasta on, will you make it taste nice?’, then she’ll laugh and put in all these magic ingredients and spices and stuff and hey presto, it tastes great. Yep, I still love my pasta!

Ok, I hope you all have a wonderful week, I really did love emails this week, they filled me right up. We’re off now to see Soeur Leveque and then teach Silvère, so if you read this before 6.30 you can pray for our lesson.

Lots and lots of love

from Soeur Hoar

p.s. let me know if there’s anyone that side of the language barrier who needs prayers

Leave a Reply

