Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“I’m grateful for missionary invincibility”

on 29 April 2013
Bonjour tout le monde!

So I just got back from visiting this little tourist town in the mountains that a member suggested to us. She said that they do horse-drawn carriage rides so we were pretty excited. Only thing was, we didn’t exactly fit in with France opening hours. There was a cute little market though so we picked up some bread and cheese and I felt a bit sick on the way back after all the free samples. As we were waiting for the bus there was a man waiting too and we spoke to him in french but then I realised that his french was very similar to mine…that’s because he was from Kidderminster! We had a great chat on the way back, he wasn’t really interested in the gospel and I found out that reciting the first vision in English is now way harder than french, I did a right bodge job. Anyway you have no idea how nice it was to talk to someone so close to home. ça me fait du bien (it did me some good).

This week we just kinda traveled. a lot. We went to Geneva for zone conference which as usual was brilliant, learnt so much. The train left just before 7am and then got back at 8pm. The following day we went to Bellegarde to teach Pascale, from Annecy it’s like the equivalent of going to Newcastle/Stoke but because there’s no direct route it usually takes a couple of hours each way but if you get on the wrong train and go to Lyon on the way back it takes a few more hours. So two straight days of just being on trains. The mission life is so exciting! Par contre, we did meet a couple of cool people yesterday and there’s such a buzz you get when someone just accepts a Book of Mormon or you set up a RDV with someone.

Christ came to church this week! Yay! It is so hard getting people to church so that was a little miracle and he had a good time, felt at ease and of course felt the spirit.

Thank you for the advice about working with members. We had a good laugh about how to ask people if they had friends who would be interested in the gospel.

I don’t think I told you about Gaston…yep we taught someone called Gaston. Hakim just turned up with a friend that he wanted us to meet and it was maybe the funniest RDV I’ve had. This guy just turns up under the influence of some not so legal things and is just happy to chat…he’d have probably been happy to do anything, he was that high. In fact, Every so often I had Hakim start laughing next to me because Gaston has pink painted nails. A few hours afterwards my sweet Utah companion asks me if it was cologne or alcohol she could smell from him.

We’re not just teaching crazy people though, we do have wonderful progressing investigators but Russ told me to write funny stories.

I hope all is going well with the new bishopric. I hope everyone feels better soon. I’m grateful for missionary invincibility, the amount of times that I’ve felt like I’m coming down really ill and then I’m completely fine is crazy but I love it. We spoke to a lady today who didn’t really believe that we have miracles day-to-day but I see them all the time. We are so ridiculously blessed, at times we just need to recognise it. I know I’m guilty of not seeing the wood through the trees sometimes but really, we’re just so looked after.

I hope you all have a wonderful week. I love you so much, what a strength to have such support at home.

Lots and lots of love

from Soeur Hoar

Leave a Reply

