Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“It’s going to be strange living with three other sisters”

on 20 May 2013

“Hello!

I’ve only been in Nice for a couple of days but I love it! The ward is incredible , like seriously, they are brilliant and it seems to be all thanks to the bishop who is just super focused on missionary work. Also the ward mission leader is incredible and has so many systems for getting the work going and the members involved too. There will be miracles in this ward. There are 10 full time missionaries in the ward, 4 sisters, 4 elders and a senior couple (just a little bit of a change from Annecy). It was really hard saying goodbye again though, it was almost like leaving home. I’ve been thrust out of my comfort zone again but it’s a really great opportunity to view my progress and continue to grow. Church was great and I was amazed at how easily I could talk with the members. My first week in Annecy I could hardly say a thing and I was so shy and now I can just walk up to the members and have a nice little chat 🙂

My new companion is Soeur Loder, she’s a convert of 4 years from Ohio. She actually reminds me just of Megan. I love her so much and I’m so excited to train. I’m sure I’ll mess up a tonne of stuff but I’m gonna try my best and I really want this to be great experience for her. Companionships are so inspired and I’m looking forward to learning from her.

We had a really cool little miracle. The first bus we got on in Nice this lady just starts contacting the other blue (Soeur Floidsand). She asked her, regarding her badge, what the church is and where she could find it, Soeur Floisand looks all confused and just smiles and says ‘oui’. I just got here so I don’t know where the church is either and I haven’t got any cards yet. Soeur Bently (in her third transfer and the only one who was in Nice last transfer) is on the phone so I signal to her for the address. So anyway, we get chatting and she’s golden. We will be seeing her tomorrow!

It’s going to be strange living with three other sisters, plus we’re all so new on the mission, I’ve been out the longest so they’ll ask me questions and I’m just like, I don’t know, you could maybe do this….

I thought that I wouldn’t have too much of a rough start because I’d have an area book and things would be left for me just to pick up. I do have an area book but we only have two amis in it…in total! I feel like I’m opening an Ă©quipe rather than white washing. Please continue praying for me and praying that we will find people ready to be converted and baptised.

This week we’re going to work in Beau Soleil, let me tell you how we get there: You take the train for 20 mins then we walk through Monaco and it’s on the other side, watch out for the Grand Prix though because that’ll probably mean it’s a bit busy. I can’t believe where I get to serve, I’ve just been in these beautiful tourist spots! As much as this is hard work, I’d rather be doing hard work on the south coast of France than anywhere else.

Well, I think that’s it for the moment, as I said, I’ve only been in Nice for a couple of days so I don’t really know much about it at all. I hope that my blue is patient with me but I’m sure she will be, she’s a way better missionary than I was at this point. We were in Lyon for a few days with transfers and we were out street contacting and I had talked to a couple of people so I just turned to Soeur Loder and I was like ‘talk to this couple’ she says ‘what!?’ I said ‘talk to this couple’. She just opened her mouth and got out a sentence or two of French, they weren’t interested and walked away, as they did I said to her ‘wow, that was great, you just spoke to them’, she says ‘you told me to!’ …’yeah but I didn’t know if you were actually going to do it’.

I just had a little heart attack because our email place is now in some dodgy little muslim place and the computer just shut down randomly, but as you can see it’s saved.

Love you all so much. I hope you have a wonderful week!

Lots of Love from Soeur Hoar

p.s. Sarah (Parker) could you send me your email address? Or if you’re not reading this could someone else send it to me?

p.p.s. that’s crazy about Rachel’s call, that’ll make four English sisters by the end of the year. She couldn’t have been called to a better mission. (of course I’d say that). Oh also, plan on serving in Switzerland because president has taken all the Americans out of there for legal reasons and now I’m the only European missionary in France.

Leave a Reply

