Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Finding a miracle family”

on 21 June 2013

“Bonjour à tous!

A bit of news, we’re now allowed to use Dropbox just to send pictures home so if I ever work out how to use it I’ll let you know. I can almost hear the sighs from all those more technologically minded but for me it may prove to be more difficult than it should be.

This week has been a lot better than last week so thank you for your prayers. The week actually started out terrible when we got a call from the district leaders saying that in ward council the Bishop had said to hand over Xavier to them beacause of a comment someone heard about him wanting to marry an English girl. It was so hard not to be mad because honestly, Xavier is so innocent that he really didn’t mean anything by it and he really does just want to move to England and work there. It really had nothing to do with me. Anyway, we followed the council of our leaders even though it felt like a complete kick in the head. We realised that we actually have no other amis and we need to work our socks off. This week had me praying like no other and it felt good. After a couple of days we get another call from Elder Bria (senior couple) who told us that what Bishop had actually said was that it was our decision and to check with the Mission President beforehand…kind of vital thing to miss out. Anyway, before that we had a lesson with him where we found out with a certainty that his testimony has nothing to do with us. He even said after extending a commitment that he always says yes, not because we ask him but because he wants to. Also in the mean time we’ve found more people to teach and so it feels like we were supposed to have that little trial for a number of inspired reasons. It’s so great to see how Xavier’s life is changing, I just can’t describe the feeling!

In my letter to President last week I told him that this week I’d write to him about finding a miracle family…and we did! We’ve been contacting families all week and been getting the quickest rejections…until Yany. The cutest family stops and listens to what we have to say and I’ve never prayed so hard during a contact, it was spiritually exhausting but it was great to have such a strong desire for this family to accept us. We haven’t taught them yet but I know that they’re an answer to prayers and hard work.

It was Soeur Floisand’s birthday yesterday and we surprised her with a little dinner appointment party at Donna’s (an English sister in the ward, actually from Stafford but then lived in Reading, or the other way around). It was so much fun and the food was amazing because she’s a chef! Oh, by the way, I’m not a fussy eater anymore…I’m growing up so much!

We had zone conference with Elder Richards of the second Quorum of the Seventy. That was pretty good. We learnt a lot about teaching to people’s needs and it’s really changed the way we teach now and we’re really seeing the effects.

Transfer reminder: I can’t believe it’s the end of the transfer already, it’s gone crazy fast, but just to remind you that emails may be at weird times next week and I might not be in Nice but my prediction is that I’m staying.

Have you heard about the huge missionary announcement they’re making next week? And by ‘them’ I mean the First Presidency and Twelve Apostles. We’re all freaking out here trying to guess what it could be.

For our last p-day of the transfer we’re going to the aquarium in Monaco, it’s also for a kind of joint birthday treat for me and Soeur Floisand. There’s some nice perks to being a missionary here.

Love you all so much, sorry my email was a bit boring this week, it reminds me of when me and Soeur Loder were sitting alone at a bus stop in the pouring rain and sh just turns to me and goes ‘yep, these are the glory days’.

Lots and lots of love
from Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

