Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Transfer News… I’m white-washing and training…again”

on 24 June 2013

Bonjour!

Ok, first off: I had a wonderful birthday, thank you for everything you sent. Special shout outs go to Jade’s card (hilarious and very creative), the bottle of Robinson’s squash, you have no idea how happy I was to get that and now I can explain it to all the Americans. The note in Gemma’s card because I can imagine exactly how that went with her and Anneka. I loved everything though and everything you sent me was exactly what I needed even though I didn’t tell you. So thank you thank you thank you to everyone. The sisters surprised me a couple of times too. In the morning they ‘went for a run’, I saw right through that because Soeur Bentley was ill and they’ve only run once this whole transfer. Their run turned into bringing us patisseries for breakfast. Then we had choir in the morning and they came out singing happy birthday with a bunch of flowers. The thing that really got me was that we went on a split because the blues needed to get some things done on the computer then while they were out Soeur Bentley said that they needed to drop a Book of Mormon over to someone and so as we were on our way we passed Pizza Hut where they all jumped out and yelled ‘surprise’ and we had a little birthday party at Pizza Hut. The best part of this was the lengths they went to to keep it a secret. Soeur Bentley made like 3 fake phone calls which all sounded so realistic because she faked the language barrier and everything. Anyway, it was a good day.

Transfer news: I’m going to Lausanne in Switzerland. I’m whitewashing and training…again. I don’t really know how I feel about all that. It’s weird that I’ve only been here for one transfer and I love it, I’m going to miss so much, especially all the missionaries. I’ve felt like I’ve had parents here with the Brias [Senior Couple]. Also, I will miss Xavier’s baptism! That’s the worst but I know that I need to go to Lausanne and the Lord’s got some great things planned for us there. I’m not so nervous this time around about whitewashing and training because there isn’t much thats unknown but I know I still have a big task ahead of me, especially as the sisters I’m taking over from are incredible. Oh, I almost forgot though, the best thing about Lausanne is that the sisters live in Renens with the Renens sisters, one of which is Soeur Hooker 🙂 I wrote in my email to President thank you and we’ll do our best to behave ourselves. Hoar and Hooker living together, let the jokes commence 🙂 So, that being said here is my new address: Les Missionaires, 4 Chemin du Clos, CH-1020, Renens VD

I know, it’s a super weird address, I don’t have a clue what VD means. I leave to pick up my blue tomorrow and then we won’t actually get to Suisse until Thursday afternoon.

Oh by the way, I found out that people in Nice have been reading my blog since it’s free for all. Apparently if you search the mission on Google, my blog comes up. That’s kind of weird but I’ll give a little shout out to the choir director for a wonderful musical number this Sunday 😉

I’m sorry that I sound American sometimes but don’t worry, they don’t let Americans into Suisse anymore (unless they’re half European) so I should be ok from now on. It’s the weird French grammar you’ll need to watch out for. Honestly, after a day of speaking French my English goes down the drain but I’m at a weird point where my French isn’t that great yet but it’s enough to make my English rubbish too.

The reason why I’m emailing so early today [9.11am] is because Soeur Floisand is going to Perpignan where her and her companion will be finishing training eachother! the after effects of the age change 🙂 So we need to take her to the gare by lunch time.

Hope you have a wonderful week, I love you all so much.
Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

