Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“We’ll be having a baptism in a couple of weeks”

on 9 August 2013

“Bonjour!

First off: I’m staying in Lausanne and so is Soeur Heitbreder. We are so happy to be staying and I can just feel that this is going to be an incredible transfer. 17th August is Nelisa’s baptism, it’s strange but I don’t think I’ve really talked about her because we weren’t sure for a while who’s boundary she was in and the sisters had already fixed a baptismal date when we got her so she’s just been quietly working her way towards salvation 🙂 But as of now she is in Lausanne secteur so we’ll be having a baptism in a couple of weeks. We have a couple of cool new amis this week too: Timothée and Roya who are both pretty golden so I’ll keep you updated with their stories. We’re going to teach Timothée tonight, he’s a young evangilist who’s really interested to know what we believe, he’s open to read and pray about the Book of Mormon so we shall see tonight if he’s followed through with that. He’s great though, he came with questions written down and I think he’s the only ami who has taken notes throughout the lesson – that’s got to be a good sign right? Roya is an Iranian student who is really cute and shy but we had a great lesson with her, she had no idea who we really were or what we do but she was interested in learning more about Christ. The lesson was so great, spirit was so strong and you could see it in her eyes that it was touching her.

My prediction was correct, I told Soeur Heitbreder that I didn’t have to worry about Mark turning up: I said the only chance of someone from the family coming to church would be Anneka. She would want to but wouldn’t and then Mark would plan to but then realise that it would mean getting up really early with the kids and he wouldn’t do that.

I’m really loving the members in this ward, they’re wonderful. We’re trying to work with them a lot more and the more we work with members, the better the work goes.

Can you believe I’m already half way through the mission? It’s crazy how fast it goes and it’s really hitting me now that most of the sisters that I’ve known from the beginning have gone home today. Soeur Reintjes and Soeur Layton are finished and it’s horrible! I get why we say that they’re ‘dead’ because it honestly feels like that, it’s horrible. I’ve finally got to the point that I understand why people find it such a struggle to come home. I didn’t really get that before because missions are super hard and they never get easier but they do get better and right now I’m just loving it. It’s hard but it’s great and I wouldn’t trade it for anything…just remind me of that when the next big trial comes along.

I love you all so much and I hope you have a wonderful week.

Love Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

