Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Let’s not worry about the dinosaurs”

on 16 October 2013
“Bonjour,

Ok, what happened this week? (pause as I look into my planner which doesn’t help at all because we never end up doing what we planned).

We had zone conference this week so there should be some photos on the mission blog although if I don’t look too happy on the picture it’s because we just rushed in late and then were made to stand up because they couldn’t see us properly and so I wasn’t that happy. I f I do look happy then it’s because I love missionary work and I’m never unhappy…

Conference (both general and zone) was great though and I’m really excited to apply what I learnt. President talked about how he used to do ‘monster weeks’ during his mission which basically means you work out how to work more hours than normal and work so hard that you couldn’t possibly do it full time or you’d kill yourself. So that’s what we’re going to do this week 🙂 If you don’t get an email next week then you’ll know why.

Adriana is progressing well, I think we’ll need to push her date a bit forward but it’s not a bad thing, I think we were just a bit too enthusiastic when we first set the date.

Unfortunately we won’t be seeing Nathalie anymore, we passed by again the other day and she made it clear she didn’t want us to come back. I can’t dwell on it otherwise I’ll just cry. I don’t understand what happened of why it had to happen but I do know that these experiences will help me. I don’t know how if at the least to understand just the slightest idea of how Christ feels when He is rejected. We all have our choice and it needs to be that way even if it breaks our hearts when you know someone is losing out on so much by the way they are using it. I’m not giving up on her though. She knows it’s true and some missionaries are going to pass by her house in the future and  she’ll remember what she learnt and accept it.

On to a brighter note. We had a miracle Sunday. We have been working a lot more with part member families and inactives the last little while because we have like 2 amis and it turns out that that was exactly what we were supposed to be doing because every sister and her dog brought her non member husband to church yesterday. (I tried explaining the phrase every man and his dog to soeur Buonanotte…she just gave me an odd look… ‘dog?’)

So we fasted with about three sisters this week and it’s already showing the fruits. Plus, that sister that stopped us at the gare because she’s actually a member and was never able to find the church for two years came with her two sisters, mum and her mum’s non member friend. We had the highest sacrament meeting attendance in ages, it was great. This ward is so on top of things with fellowship and such that it just makes it a pleasure to be here.

I’m trying to think of anything funny that happened this week and it just popped into my mind how funny it is having an Italian companion because you wouldn’t believe the amount of english words that sound rude when said with an italian accent. We spent about 10 minutes going over the proper way to pronounce the word ‘sheet’. I’m also learning some Italian and by Italian I mean sign language. She would hit me if she knew I’d just said that.

So all in all, doing well. Oh, another update on how my French is going since I got asked again. I’ll reply with this little anecdote. We were talking to a man on the street for about 10 minutes, after that he found out I was english and said we can speak in english, I think it would be better. Then started in english ‘so, since how many time have you been here’. I really hope it wasn’t better in english. That was a funny contact though because he asked us if we believed in the Bible, after a bit of discussion he said ‘then tell me why Noah didn’t save the dinosaurs’. I just looked at him and said ‘hold on, the Bible teaches us that Jesus Christ, the Son of God came to earth to suffer our sins, show us the way and die for us so that we can be saved and you’re worried about the dinosaurs?’ My companion got a kick out of that. So I guess the message for this week is let’s not worry about the dinosaurs. The gospel is wonderful and true.

Love you all. Have a wonderful week.

Love Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

