Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“Praying in English was the toughest thing”

on 4 November 2013

“Bonjour…or rather Hello

In answer to some questions I hope I’m not going where soeur Hookers gone since she’s on a medical assignment with a nurse that’s come to the mission…I don’t think I’d be much good at that. But she’s based in Lyon.

I’m with Soeur Sovaleni in the apartment and she just came over from Annecy so I’ve been getting a bit of news. Do you remember when I found that guy Christ on the bus? He’s got a baptismal date, how cool? Also, in two weeks it is stake conference so I’m going to get to see everyone from annecy again. I’m so excited, especially as I can now communicate with them.

So English ward. It’s the weirdest thing but I love it. When we were in sacrament meeting and they started giving the sacrament prayer I actually looked up because I thought they had got it wrong, then I realised it was English. Praying in English was the toughest thing but I think I’ve just about got it now. I have to turn to Soeur Ziane occasionally in lessons for her to tell me the English translation and sometimes I don’t even notice I’ve said a French word until everyone looks at me funny.

The ward is wonderful though. We have an incredible ward mission leader who has recently been called and he’s so on it. Really enthusiastic and I just know we’re gonna get some incredible work done here. From what I’ve seen the ward members are really eager to work with us. Soeur Ziane said that this week we’ve got more dinner appointments than she’s had the whole time she’s been here. I think it’s due to the new dmp (ward mission leader). They’ve also just added two new elders to the ward. They’re both learning English and I can empathise all too well with the struggles they’re having. I think it really boosts the ward to have more missionaries and our plan is just to have as much contact with the members as possible so that it’s always on their mind.

We taught young women’s yesterday and it was great, especially as there were a couple of English girls. Anyone know the Mckans (sp?) from Leeds?

We have some great investigators too. Hassane is doing the best. He’s got a baptismal date for the 23rd November and he’s just soaking it all up. He was brought up Muslim but said that it never brought him anything so he sought out Christianity and it’s so great, if you could hear him when he expresses his desire to change his life to make it more in line with Christ.

Also, we are teaching a few Mongolians, Jak and Azaa are so close to fixing a baptismal date and I’m sure it’ll happen this week.

One more ami, Amock, who was taught about four years ago and now we’ve seen him a few times. He’s really cool, super searching, full of questions and knows his stuff. We’re just trying to teach him to have faith. I’m sure he’ll get there. I feel that now’s the time for him. It’s super exhausting teaching him though, like spiritually exhausting but great.

My companion, Soeur Ziane is so great. I don’t know how much it came across in my other emails but my last companion was really hard to work with but me and Soeur Ziane have just clicked and are getting some really great work done. I feel like a missionary again! She just gets on with it and is super focused on the work. We also get on really well and all this week we’ve just been laughing and having a good time. It’s really so much fun doing work with her and I’m like, yes, this is what missionary work should be like. It should be fun. We have the best job in the world, we get to invite others to come unto Christ. That’s another goal I have for working with members. I want them to feel the joy of this work. They seem so burdened with a never ending to do list and I don’t want to add missionary work to the list. I want them to see it for what it is: a joy. We’re going to serve them and love them and they’re going to want to be with us and want to bring their friends too.

Have a wonderful week.

Love you all
Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

