Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

“I got transfered… I’m pink washing… 6th area”

on 10 December 2013
“Bonjour

I hope you didn’t freak out too much that I didn’t write yesterday. I’m still alive ­čÖé

I got transfered. It sucks. Sorry, can’t pretend, it’s rubbish. I was having the time of my life in Geneva and they rooted me out from my family just before Christmas. I spent the whole day on the train yesterday to get to┬áAngoul├¬me (struggling using a French keyboard again). I’m pink washing which is like white washing except it’s when sisters replace elders. Angouleme is smaller than Annecy with a sacrament attendance of about 20. This will change. We’re going to reactivate this branch and baptise three families and by the time me and my companion, the Lord and a whole army of angels are finished with it the sacrament attendance will have doubled. Things were too great in Geneva that my only consolation is to work myself to death making this area even better than Geneva. This is the plan, please pray for me.

My companion is Soeur Robison from Utah, she’s really nice and ready to work and we so far seem to have pretty similar work ideas. She’s very enthusiastic which is great, I’m trying to feed off of that and be positive for her too. She’s in her fourth transfer and this is the first time she’s been transferred.

I didn’t know what would be waiting for me in an apartment from Elders but actually it’s cleaner and more organised than most sister apartments, we were super impressed. Honestly, Elder Gandalph is bordering on OCD with his organisation but it’s a huge blessing for us, it means that we can go straight to work (straight after emails of course). All the members and investigators are mapped out and the area book is up to date – a dream I didn’t dare to hope for. The downside is that the area book is up to date with only one or two investigators so we’re gonna need to do just a little finding. I miss Geneva. Anyway, on the plus side we have a baptism this month! That I was certainly not expecting so happy days.

Ok, sorry about the complaints, I didn’t get chance to tell you all the great things that happened in Geneva before I left like the Mongolian family that will be baptised at the end of the month and the fact that Amock finally came to church because it was my last Sunday and he was really touched by the talks. We thought that we had lost him and now he’s back and Soeur Ziane and he new Portuguese companion are gonna baptise in multitudes.

Ok, are you all ready for the miracles that are about to happen in little Angouleme? 3rd white wash, 6th area, bring it on.

Love you all so much, have a wonderful week.

Love Soeur Hoar

p.s. I really hope there’s a member in this branch who has skype for Christmas, just brace yourself is all I’m saying.”

Leave a Reply

