Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

‘They don’t know it yet but they’re gonna get baptised’

on 20 January 2014

“Bonjour

As a district we’re working on patience and when I prayed for it I was like, ‘Heavenly Father I feel like I already have enough circumstances to develop patience, please don’t send anymore but just let me have the capacities to deal with my current situation’. So far it’s working, it’s not easy by any stretch but it’s better.

We had a really great day on Monday, well the evening anyway because we only work from 6pm. We had a rdv set up with Fatmah and as we were walking up the stairs I felt like we wouldn’t be teaching her tonight because the Lord had other plans for us. I was right and our back up plan was to port the building next to her. Before Angouleme I’ve had no success with porting in the past few months there have been a couple of amis from it but this was something else, from just a few doors we set up four rdvs and found a family! WE FOUND A FAMILY! They are wonderful, they don’t know it yet but they’re gonna get baptised and go to the temple and become an eternal family. Their name is the Rivoisy family. Love them so much. So often in Angouleme, pretty much always, we meet and teach a lot of weird people. I’m not being mean, this ville is just weird, we get really excited when we talk to normal people. Anyway, the point is that this family is really normal, we had a lovely time being with them.

We also got a referral from another missionary who just came into the field and his cousin is in Angouleme so we called her up and she’s a super nice Tahitian girl who we set an appointment with.

There’s a lot of good going on here and I’m so scared to be transfered. It’s taken me a long time to ove this place but now I do I’m so attatched. I really want to work hard for the members too who are working so hard and not really seeing any results. I just want to build them up.

Transfers are next week by the way.

We have a lot of investigators right now and we have no trouble finding new ones which is a huge blessing seeing as we came in with absolutely no one to teach. Our problem at the moment is that none of them are progressing. none of them. I don’t know what’s going on, none of them are even reading the Book of Mormon. I feel like this transfer was building up the teaching pool and then next transfer we’ll really see some progression. Although numbers are not huge I was reflecting on all the little victories that we’ve had and I was really happy. I looked and I saw a number one under ‘people activated’ and I realised that number one means Carole. Carole is wonderful and when we came in she wasn’t active but now she comes every week and she’s reading the Book of Mormon daily and coming out teaching with us and is just a lovely active member again and that means the world to me. That is a huge victory and although it’s disappointing to see low numbers I am not discouraged by them because I get to play my little part in this great work. I was watching mountain of the Lord the other day and I thought of those just doing menial jobs everyday, appearing as though what they did was making no progress and then we see the end result of the Salt Lake Temple and all that we know that to mean and I just felt part of it all. We’re all playing our little role that seems like it’s not really doing anything but in fact there’s no role that is unnecessary in the work of salvation. Is that cheesy enough for you? It helped me anyway.

Hope you all have a lovely week.

Love you lots

Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

