Sister Michelle Hoar

Serving in the France Lyon Mission Nov 2012 – April 2014

Scriptures and words of encouragement in the hymn books

on 4 March 2014

“Bonjour,

I nearly fell of my chair when I logged into emails and find my travel itinerary!

I love being here. The other day we talked about transfers and I said that I’d be happy if I stayed or not because I absolutely love Angouleme but at the same time it’d be nice to have one last adventure. Then after church yesterday with  all our wonderful members I turned to Soeur Beeny and was like, I was chatting rubbish yesterday, who cares about an adventure, I’ll be distraught when I have to leave this place. It’s in the Lords hands though and like that, I don’t have to worry. I’m just gonna have a wonderful week this week.

I sat on a bus with a lady and gave her some chocolate and had a nice chat, we talked about all sorts and had a really nice moment sharing the things we loved and then I linked it into how I’m here to share another thing I love which is a message about Jesus Christ. I got her number and she said she’d be happy to see me again. Also I attended a baptism! It was Stephan’s baptism this Saturday and it was fantastic. Usually he’s a happy person, he likes to joke and stuff but on Saturday we’d never seen him like that, he was bouncing off the walls and it was such a joy to see. I don’t know what more I could say. Audrey made it just in time to see him get dunked and I hope with all my heart that it will be her time soon. We’re going this afternoon, to visit a castle with her and Josué, her fiancé and I feel like the more time we spend with her the better. She’s fantastic, she just needs a bit of courage and she’ll be there.

Last night we got invited over to the Temahuki’s to do a little family home evening. Soeur Temahuki asked us when we were at church last minutes because her inactive son was staying with her and left today and wanted us to share something about faith in Christ. Together we came up with a really good idea because we and her family are very musical we did a musical FHE where we chose a few hymns about the Saviour and between each one read the scripture that went with it. It was such a wonderful evening. At the beginning frère Temahuki and his son Néphi sang some tahitian songs with the guitar and then they played the hymns on guitar too. Soeur Beeny and the temahuki’s all sing so well.

Also, to encourage people for the miracle Sunday next week we stole an idea from Mark and put scriptures and little words of encouragement in all the hymns in the hymn books that we sang on Sunday.

Love you all loads, have a wonderful week

Love Soeur Hoar”

Leave a Reply

